The National Bank of Texas



About Us

In order to meet the banking needs of the residents and businesses located in the North Fort Worth area, in February 1972 the organizers of The National Bank of Texas applied for a national bank charter. In September of that year the charter was granted. The National Bank of Texas opened for business in November of 1973 in its current location at the corner of IH-35W and Northeast 28th Street on Fort Worth's North Side.

The primary organizer of the bank was Leonard H. Brantley, Sr. who was a local CPA. Mr. Brantley served the bank from its inception, and was Chairman of the Board of the bank’s holding company, Horizon Bankshares, Inc., until his retirement in the fall of 2009, shortly before he passed away. From 1974 until his retirement in 1997, Bill D. Wilson served as President of the bank. Mr. Wilson currently serves as the Chairman of the Board of Horizon Bankshares, Inc. extending the continuity of successful senior management as well as the vision of the original founders of the bank.

Ownership of the bank has remained essentially unchanged since Horizon Bankshares, Inc. was organized by the bank's directors and senior officers in 1985. The directors of the bank are all area residents which allow them to better understand the needs of the areas and the customers we serve.

The bank still serves the North Side area of Fort Worth from its original location, but has added locations in Hurst, Burleson and Azle to meet those communities needs for ''hometown'' banking from ''hometown'' bankers The bank is staffed with experienced local bankers that know their customers and serve their communities through various civic, educational and business organizations.

Rep/Contact Info

Card image cap
Mr. Jason Ballou
Fort Worth Market President
licensephone-handsettabletmenuarrow-right linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram